Fat Lava

In my constant pursuit of tile hotness, I have several concepts in development, one of which I call the Fat Lava Tile, (development sample pictured above) It gets it’s name from the key word  I used  to trawl ebay for it’s inspiration. The term Fat Lava is a tag used by German ebay sellers when listing their West German studio pottery pieces produced in the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s known for a garish use of color, quirky geometry and beautiful, but definitely not antibacterial textures.

I think what I like best about it is that it’s A) not for everyone, with standalone pieces sometimes getting downright ugly, and therefore, B) mostly pretty cheap; some of the good people of Germany are selling whole collections on ebay for under $300 (plus shipping, of course).

Collecting Fat Lava pottery has gained recent popularity with exhibitions in London and the catalog/book by Mark Hill, titled Fat Lava, – well worth picking up. If you order it from Mark Hill directly, he will even personally sign it upon request.  http://markhillpublishing.co.uk

As for my Fat Lava Tile collection, it’s still in the development phase and should be available for the holidays. Right now, I am just picturing the mentioned ebay find carefully arranged across my white painted fireplace hearth – Das ist sexy!

2 responses to “Fat Lava

  1. You’ve got some fantastic finds there and I can’t belive you’re using the German stuff to inspire your own tiles – that’s amazing!! When we (eventually) do up our bathroom and kitchen, something like this would be a dream find for us. Emma

  2. And that would be my dream tile project! Yes, vintage German ceramics and housewares are fantastic inspiration. Both my grandparents were German. In fact my grandmother’s name was Emma and also my sister. For a second I thought your comment was from her, but she’s a white subway tile girl… Thanks for your comment. I will be sure to post pictures my progress of my Fat Lava Tile line in the up coming year! ~Leah

Leave a Reply

